4030 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
4030 reviews
Recommended
(9.2)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Tue, 16 Jul 2019

(7)
Food was ok. Not overly satisfied.
HI. Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy the food on your recent visit. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 19 Jul 2019

dined on Tue, 16 Jul 2019

(8)
Good place, great service and food

dined on Sat, 13 Jul 2019

(9)
Food is always amazingly delicious

dined on Sat, 13 Jul 2019

(7)
Nice restaurant , will come again

dined on Sat, 13 Jul 2019

(10)
Overall a great experience. Will come back again
Hi, Thank you for your 10/10 ratings and positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at the restaurant again soon. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 19 Jul 2019

dined on Sat, 13 Jul 2019

(9)
It’s so big when the balcony is opened up its becoming a canteen feel. Still love the food and service but it’s loosing its ambiance.
Thuong Dang

dined on Sat, 13 Jul 2019

(10)
Amazing night. Service and food was excellent!

dined on Sat, 13 Jul 2019

(9)
Great food, friendly staff and nice atmosphere.
Hi, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 19 Jul 2019

dined on Sat, 13 Jul 2019

(10)
The Malaya is just an absolute gem. The food is sensational. The Kapitan Prawns is just sublime. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. I highly recommend.
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review us. The Kapitan Prawns are a favorite for many of our guests. So pleased you enjoyed them and the wonderful service. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 25 Jul 2019

dined on Sat, 13 Jul 2019

(9)
The food was wonderful, the service a little confused. It was cold and very windy and restaurants's openness led to some discomfort. Better to save it for a nice day.
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Specials

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
01 Sep 2019
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Celebrate NYE at The Malaya

Bid farewell to the year gone by and welcome in the New Year in style. Relax and let our friendly and professional staff look after your every need while dining on a delicious 7 course set menu. Please advise us of all dietary requirements when booking as we may not be able to accommodate some. Children under 12 will be served a children’s menu. Cancellation of a reservation or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 10am, Friday 27th of December. Past this date, an amount of $135 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or deduction in numbers. Tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside the main dining area.
Min. people
2
When
31 Dec 2019
Tue 5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2019

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by Friday 1st November. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
05 Nov 2019
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map