1147 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.3
1147 reviews
Recommended
(8.5)
Food
(8.5)
Service
(8.1)
Value for money
(7.6)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Fri, 22 Feb 2019

(6)
I have been here numerous times and on past occasions have been happy with my meal, but not on this occasion. I ordered medium steak, but received all that was well done.

dined on Mon, 18 Feb 2019

(7)
Food is great but parking is an issue.
Jessica

dined on Sat, 9 Feb 2019

(10)
Excellent set menu. The food was delicious and the service was very attentive

dined on Fri, 8 Feb 2019

(8)
Had a lovely evening with the family! Food was good.

dined on Mon, 4 Feb 2019

(9)
Fantastic meal. They provided really good gluten free options.
Hi Rachell, Thank you for supporting The Meat & Wine Co. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We love nothing more than being a part of great memories. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Amal – Assistant Restaurant Manager
Restaurant The Meat & Wine Co Hawthorn East responded on Tue, 5 Feb 2019

dined on Sat, 2 Feb 2019

(10)
Service and food were awesome, just a little loud where we were sitting. We had a fantastic night with friends and family.

dined on Thu, 31 Jan 2019

(8)
They know how to cook a steak!!!

dined on Wed, 30 Jan 2019

(4)
Very disappointing and underwhelming experience with the special menu. Had expected better experience from this restaurant. First we were placed on the outdoor areas where all the guests who had booked on The Fork for the 50% special were placed. Dessert was extremely disappointing. There were barely 3 spoonfuls in the serve.

dined on Wed, 30 Jan 2019

(10)
Great experience. Excellent food and service.
Hi, Thank you for supporting The Meat & Wine Co. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We love nothing more than being a part of great memories. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Amal – Assistant Restaurant Manager
Restaurant The Meat & Wine Co Hawthorn East responded on Thu, 31 Jan 2019

dined on Wed, 30 Jan 2019

(8)
Wine quite expensive here. Happy Hour good value although limited options. We dined on the degustation menu as that was the only option with the 50% deal, and as I did not eat steak, this proved to be a nuisance. Ended up with a piece of chicken. No offer of bread at the table. I would return to do the 50% deal again, but only if there is a choice off the menu, as all the other restaurants do locally. ( and we have eaten at many around Camberwell and Kew )
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Mother's Day Set Lunch

Join us for a Mother's Day lunch. $85 per person and $35 per child under 12. Credit Card details are required to secure this reservation. This card will only be charged as per the cancellation policy. Cancellations: Cancellations made within 2 days of the booking date will incur a 100% cancellation fee. Cancellations made within 3 days of the booking date will incur a 20% cancellation fee. Cancellations made within 5 days of the booking date will incur a 10% cancellation fee.
When
12 May 2019
Sun 11:45 AM - 3:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Meat & Wine Co Hawthorn East

Paddock to plate Popping up out of the old English, Scottish and Australia bank, a heritage-listed beauty on Camberwell junction, The Meat & Wine Co of East Hawthorn offer up a sophisticated steakhouse dining experience in the heart of old Melbourne. This one’s for the serious meat lover, with all the classic steak and rib options on offer. The Portuguese prawns and beef Carpaccio are good starters but it’s when the short rib steak arrives before you, having slow cooked for eight hours, you know they mean business. So serious are the folks at The Meat & Wine Co about their dishes, that beef is sourced exclusively from Monte Beef, the producers of some of Australia’s finest Angus Beef. A gorgeous range of sauces will keep even the biggest sceptic in check (watch out for that African Hot Chilli), and there’s plenty more alternatives on the menu too, such as their lamb shanks, flame-grilled skewers and even kangaroo – why not? And with three more locations on the east coast, this swish, modern take on the humble steakhouse is catching on. Best dish: short rib steak

The Meat & Wine Co Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

4.5/5