1147 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.3
1147 reviews
Recommended
(8.5)
Food
(8.5)
Service
(8.1)
Value for money
(7.6)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Tue, 29 Jan 2019

(8)
Loved the ambience and service. Food and cocktails were excellent.

dined on Sun, 27 Jan 2019

(9)
The food is always fantastic at Meat & Wine Co, and we had a lovely wine too. The service was ok, something was going on with another party as we tried ordering and the waitress appeared distracted by that and just walked off to help them first whereas we shouldn't have been privy at all. Also the hostess at the front could see me waiting to be taken to my table and instead she picked up a phone call and had a conversation with someone instead of asking them to hold on the phone and take care of me first. Not big things, but noticeable and make enough of a difference to a rating.

dined on Fri, 25 Jan 2019

(8)
Myself and a friend had the degustation menu, and it was all wonderful except the steak, which was - for both of us - very overcooked (completely well-done), dry, and chewy, especially considering we both ordered rare. We wanted to send them back but felt too uncomfortable to do so. It was a let down for a renowned steak restaurant, and was only made up for by the rest of the menu, and the great service.

dined on Thu, 24 Jan 2019

(8)
The food is good but service really needs improving. Wait staff struggled to deliver prompt, friendly service on the night. Service was akin to casual fast food diner, which did not match up with the excellent food and prices. This is a shame as others in the franchise have been consistently good.

dined on Thu, 24 Jan 2019

(8)
Air con not powerful enough for a 40 deg day. Would be nice to advertise special 50% off menu (no choice) before booking.

dined on Tue, 22 Jan 2019

(7)
Exclusive menu not worth it

dined on Sat, 19 Jan 2019

(6)
Steak was ordinary Not very flavoursome

dined on Sat, 19 Jan 2019

(10)
We had a private room which was fantastic. A great night, great food and service. Definitely coming back again

dined on Fri, 18 Jan 2019

(4)
This was a 50% dimmi offer for their degustation menu. We had planned to have this degustation menu for some of us on the table, but also wanted to order some items from the ala carte menu, happily accepting that the ala carte menu was full priced. We were not allowed to do so, and I wonder why? This seems inexplicable, since the restaurant stands to earn more money with food ordered at full price. The low ratings are not due to this situation.

dined on Mon, 14 Jan 2019

(9)
Great food and service
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Mother's Day Set Lunch

Join us for a Mother's Day lunch. $85 per person and $35 per child under 12. Credit Card details are required to secure this reservation. This card will only be charged as per the cancellation policy. Cancellations: Cancellations made within 2 days of the booking date will incur a 100% cancellation fee. Cancellations made within 3 days of the booking date will incur a 20% cancellation fee. Cancellations made within 5 days of the booking date will incur a 10% cancellation fee.
When
12 May 2019
Sun 11:45 AM - 3:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Meat & Wine Co Hawthorn East

Paddock to plate Popping up out of the old English, Scottish and Australia bank, a heritage-listed beauty on Camberwell junction, The Meat & Wine Co of East Hawthorn offer up a sophisticated steakhouse dining experience in the heart of old Melbourne. This one’s for the serious meat lover, with all the classic steak and rib options on offer. The Portuguese prawns and beef Carpaccio are good starters but it’s when the short rib steak arrives before you, having slow cooked for eight hours, you know they mean business. So serious are the folks at The Meat & Wine Co about their dishes, that beef is sourced exclusively from Monte Beef, the producers of some of Australia’s finest Angus Beef. A gorgeous range of sauces will keep even the biggest sceptic in check (watch out for that African Hot Chilli), and there’s plenty more alternatives on the menu too, such as their lamb shanks, flame-grilled skewers and even kangaroo – why not? And with three more locations on the east coast, this swish, modern take on the humble steakhouse is catching on. Best dish: short rib steak

The Meat & Wine Co Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

4.5/5