Back

Reviews The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

8.4/10

Very good

based on 367 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Hakan B.
    Hakan B.
    • one review
    8/10

    Super friendly staff and great service, good atmosphere with the music and lighting. The food was divine and scrumptious. Overall, our experience at the Morrison was lovely.

  2. Hashu G.
    Hashu G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great find for us in Sydney. Prompt friendly service, good quality food at fairly reasonable prices. Will certainly recommend this restaurant to friends visiting Sydney.

  3. Stuart C.
    Stuart C.
    • 10 reviews
    6.5/10

    We came here before with friends and enjoyed the bar atmosphere and eating at the restaurant out the back. However, on this visit the restaurant was closed and the bar ambience seemed flat. Unfortunately, although the food was good, the main meal took 45 mins to arrive and we had to chase it up, which isn’t acceptable. Maybe due to lack of staff on a Tuesday, but given the tables we’re all full, this seems more like bad planning than a one off.

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey Stuart, Thanks for joining us and for taking your time to review us. We're really sorry about the time it took for your food to arrive. We'd love to investigate this further so we can look for ways to improve. If you could please send viki@themorrison.com.au an email so we can chat further that would be really appreciated. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  4. Steph T.
    Steph T.
    • one review
    6/10

    We have been to The Morrison before and really enjoyed it. However, our food this past weekend was really disappointing. We started with 6 oysters - 2 of each type available that night. Unfortunately, most of them were shucked poorly and contained shells (haven’t had this problem here previously). Additionally two of them were bad and tasted very very fishy. I’ve never had a bad oyster before but now I know and will be much more cautious in the future. Ack! I had also purchased one for the Lunar New Year special cocktails and it was very sweet and did not taste like an alcoholic drink. Lastly, my husband and I both had pasta dishes and they were way too buttery and lacked flavor. Last time I was their I had the same dish and enjoyed it so something was off. The tartare was good, and our other three cocktails of the night were nice! Sadly, I don’t think we’ll be back after this experience (not worth the risk/cost) and we’re a little disappointed because this was a go to spot for us on date night.

  5. Theodor E.
    Theodor E.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Lovely

  6. Marian M.
    Marian M.
    • one review
    8/10

    Really loved the food and service. Treasure hidden in the city. Must visit when you are in town. Seafood at it’s finest. Good for an evening of fun.

  7. Brenda L.
    Brenda L.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    Had to wait about 20/30 minutes for a second round of oysters. Salmon salad was salty. Brisket was overcooked for my liking but decent. Martini was way too sweet.

  8. Sandra C.
    Sandra C.
    • 3 reviews
    5/10

    Welcoming and friendlly staff but they never refilled our glasses of water. It would be better to have s carafe on the table. The food was very disappointing. Only a few mussels and too buttery.. The steak was extremely thin, they

  9. Adam B.
    Adam B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Gabrielle was the most professional, courteous and knowledgeable waiter that I’ve met in a long time in a a Sydney venue. He was fantastic and courteous and knew about all the dishes and the venues history. Food was fantastic as were the drinks! Thank you

  10. Sophie B.
    Sophie B.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Great spot for a girls lunch. Porchetta was delicious! Others weren't as happy with their meal choice but it's a very good menu with lots to choose from!

  11. Razel N.
    Razel N.
    • one review
    10/10

    First time to dine here with my husband and our son and we weren't disappointed. The oysters were fresh, succulent and delicious and so were the mains we ordered. I particularly loved the crispy skin trout I had and the parmesan cabbage side salad the wait staff recommended. Service was good. The atmosphere very friendly. We will be back definitely to try the other dishes on the menu.

  12. Angela M.
    Angela M.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and services was very good

  13. Katie M.
    Katie M.
    • 8 reviews
    4/10

    This place was supposed to be a fine dining oyster bar. It had kids who don’t care waiting on and zero customer service or care.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    8/10

    good meal and excellent daily deals

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great atmosphere , good service and good food! We had oysters for entree and they were delicious, two of us had the rainbow trout which was cooked to perfection and the accompanying salad was also delicious! However, the mussels that my other girlfriend ordered were a little bit over cooked which was a shame?? Overall experience was good??

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8/10

    Great Service - very attentive. Pasta had a bit too much butter in it....

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    5.75/10

    Food not particularly special

  18. Tiffany C.
    Tiffany C.
    • 10 reviews
    7.5/10

    Hard to get staffs attention at the back. Food was delicious though!

  19. Tiffany C.
    Tiffany C.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Service was amazing even if it was hard to get their attention sometimes. Oysters are super fresh and the crab pasta was super rich!

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food, great drinks, excellent service. This is my special occasion go to restaurant and bar! The oysters are fresh and tasty!

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks for joining us and for your amazing review. So glad you enjoyed yourself. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    7.75/10

    Noisy on a Friday night but it'expected with the after work crowd. Move inside the restaurant to get a table away from the bar area.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8.75/10

    A favourite for our monthly group dinner catch up!

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for joining us and for your great feedback. Come again. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    9.75/10

    Go for the oysters; absolutely great! So many people recommended The Morrison Bar for its seafood and it is a must!

  24. Shakeela A.
    Shakeela A.
    • 26 reviews
    10/10

    We love the Morrison

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Thanks so much for coming and for your review. We love you too! See you soon. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  25. Pia B.
    Pia B.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Service was fantastic. Our waiter remembered our orders without even writing them down. And they were served correctly to each of us. Steak was cooked perfectly which almost never happens elsewhere. Cocktails were unique and tasty. Good variety of food.

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for your review. We're glad you had a great time! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food and service are great!

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for joining us and for your great feedback. Hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Team Morrison.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 294 reviews
    7.25/10

    Great oyster festival, the sauces could be a bit cheaper though. Gnocchi used to have more mushrooms and the sauce was a bit too buttery this time. Good service though.

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for joining us for oyster festival. We're glad your service was good and that you had a great time. We're sorry you were let down by the mushroom gnocchi. I have fed this back to the kitchen team. I hope to see you again! Cheers, Team Morrison.

  28. Sid B.
    Sid B.
    • 44 reviews
    5.25/10

    Went during the oyster festival and tried the oyster sliders. The flavour was good but I felt the one small oyster in the bun was overwhelmed by the bread which represented around 70-80% of the slider. There was also an issue generating my bill, I presume due to my booking through this website, meaning it took around 5 minutes for me to get it.

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey Sid, Thanks so much for joining us and for your valuable feedback. I am really sorry to hear your weren't satisfied with your oyster sliders and I have passed this message onto our kitchen team. So we can better understand what happened regarding your bill it would be great if you could pop an email to viki@themorrison.com.au so we can chat further. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice food and wine/beer There was no beer menu provided only wine Was quite loud from the bar Meals were fast

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for joining us and providing us with your feedback. We're sorry you weren't shown our beer menu - which usually lives at the bar. I have passed on your feedback to our team to ensure everyone seated is offered the bar menu for the beer selection! Cheers, Team Morrison.

  30. Shakeela A.
    Shakeela A.
    • 26 reviews
    9.25/10

    We love this place for its food, wine and ambience

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for joining us and for your great feedback! Hopefully see you again soon. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  31. Kimberly F.
    Kimberly F.
    • one review
    5.75/10

    There were 3 meals added to our bill that I had to get removed as they weren't ours.

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey Kimberly, Thanks so much for your feedback and for joining us. We're really sorry that there was an error on your bill. I hope this was sorted out at the time? If it wasn't please contact viki@themorrison.com.au so we can chat further and sort this out. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    7.75/10

    Nice restaurant and good service.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    10/10

    Great spot for dinner. Nice dark lighting, good for a date. Yummy food!

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for your feedback and for joining us! We're glad you had a good time. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  34. Lynn-Li L.
    Lynn-Li L.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    I love their mushroom gnocchi!! That lemon butter sauce is addictive, generous serve of mushrooms and nice cheesy gnocchi texture :) Great service too - polite and attentive staff. One of my favourite places.

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for joining us and for your amazing feedback. We're glad you enjoy the gnocchi so much. See you soon :) Cheers, Team Morrison.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    6.75/10

    Great atmosphere and we enjoyed the happy hour oysters!

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks for joining us and for you feedback. Hopefully see you for more oysters soon! Cheers, Team Morrison.

  36. Wade G.
    Wade G.
    • 15 reviews
    9/10

    Very busy restaurant. Food was good and great wine list.

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for joining us and for your amazing feedback. Come again! Cheers, Team Morrison.

  37. Renee G.
    Renee G.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Awesome service and atmosphere — the Morrison is a fun casual dining place — great food as always! The steak is cooked to perfection each time! And yay for oyster festival too! I added a random request to my booking not thinking much of it and was super chuffed when they honoured it! Thank u for a great night! We’ll be back again!

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for joining us and for your amazing feedback. We're glad you had a great time. Hopefully see you again soon. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 297 reviews
    6/10

    Food overpriced for what you get

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for joining us and for providing your feedback. We'd love to chat to you further about your experience. If you could please send viki@themorrison.com.au an email that would be hugely appreciated. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9.75/10

    The online reservation and confirmation process was easy.

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks for sharing your feedback :) We hope to see you in the restaurant very soon. Cheers, Team Morrison.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    7.5/10

    Very fresh oysters for the oyster month!

    The Morrison Bar & Oyster Room

    Hey, Thanks so much for joining us and for your great feedback. Come again! Cheers, Team Morrison.