Back

Reviews The Precinct

  1. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    7.25/10

    After my last experience, I thought I'd give it another go but got there to find it was no longer The Precinct... So a bit surprised this booking still exists. It's now Chalk & Cheese. Plate sizings are generous.

  2. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.25/10

    Had coffee and cocktails and a snack. The new menu for relaunched chalk and cheese looks good. Can't wait to see the new setup..

  3. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    2/10

    Very disappointing meal as the venue was ridiculously loud and noisy! 3 of us had incorrect meal served and the food was not up to the standard any of us are used to so we will not be recommending or returning here! A shame as the standard on the Albany Highway strip is usually really high....

  4. Ben L.
    Ben L.
    • 5 reviews
    6/10

    Menu (and the whole kitchen staff apparently) has changed dramatically since I was last here. Before, it had some really unusual tapas interpretations but things are a lot more generic now which is a shame. Service was good but it was a bit drafty on a cool night and I had to struggle to hear the conversation over the live music which I could have done without.

  5. Oliver P.
    Oliver P.
    • 7 reviews
    5.5/10

    Food is good but unfortunately the medium-rare steak ordered arrived well-done. When we told the staff, they took the entire plate away and our friend had to watch us eat and then when we finish our meals our friend got his plate back so we watch him eat by himself. Not a great experience. Sent email to the restaurant to discuss the situation, never got a reply back.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    4.75/10

    Entree and mains were undercooked and very oily.

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    6.75/10

    Fresh, vibrant tasty food. Relaxing atmosphere. Accessible easily for wheelchair. Bar area, no parking & on main drag. Friendly staff

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    7/10

    We were very disappointed that the 50% off Dimmi special was not offered even though it is still advertised on this site.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    10/10

    Booked a table on line, good service, delicious food at a very reasonable price.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 297 reviews
    9/10

    The booths are too low for the tables.

  11. Jason C.
    Jason C.
    • 11 reviews
    6.75/10

    Totally different experience to previous occasions, I assume management and staff has changed completely. Used to be a cool neighbourhood restaurant with a great wine list and some interesting food, now it’s basically a pub menu with limited wine list and expensive cocktails. The food is decent enough - we had a share platter, a chicken parm and a steak. All pretty tasty, steak cooked okay (asked for medium rare, was more of a medium, but still aliright and well seasoned). Food prices are the normal pub level, drinks on the expensive side. Service was a bit inconsistent though - not slow, but just weren’t exactly attentive. We asked for the platter to come out as an entree first, but before we had finished it our mains were already at our (small) table and were just shoved onto the edge. We also said no thank you for dessert yet were given dessert menus. If you haven’t been here in a while and thinking about visiting again, definitely reset your expectations. It’s not bad, but it’s not as good as it used to be.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8/10

    I love coming here as its great food and good service!

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    3.75/10

    Extremely disappointed. Booked on the 50% off deal for a family meal, last night. Didn't realise it also meant 50% less food. Share platter was barely enough for 1 person, quinoi salad was more like a mixed lettuce salad with quinoa barely noticeable. Burger was dry. I wouldn't return. Better eateries in Vic Park to choose from.

  14. Christopher K.
    Christopher K.
    • 41 reviews
    9.25/10

    Fantastic food great atmosphere like Arnie we’ll be back

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    8/10

    The service is quick and friendly, the food is good too!

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    7.5/10

    We received a pretty good deal since the offer was 50% off food items.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.5/10

    Had the paella. Was tasty, however more of a risotto. Presentation was spot on, fast service. Over all, good place and I'd definately go back.

  18. Kym H.
    Kym H.
    • 21 reviews
    7.5/10

    Booked on half price food special for lunch, great value! - food was really tasty, nice atmosphere/not hectic at lunchtime. Only downfall was that while we sat chatting for quite a while after finished eating, it would have been nice to have been offered more drinks.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    7.5/10

    Lunch was amazing at this place, their lunch specials was a decent serving

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    8.75/10

    Second time there. Paella was better this round as not as wet. Tried the crispy pork belly and that was excellent with the crispy skin. It would have been better if more of the delicious coleslaw and puree was given. Sriracha chicken wings was absolutely finger licking good. Mushroom Mac & Cheese was as good as the first time and the chips with the aioli was a winner with the kids. Nice friendly staff.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 231 reviews
    9.5/10

    The crumbed chicken and sharing plate for 2 was delicious! Great service...will definitely return again

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    7.5/10

    Great service! We will definitely be back.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9.25/10

    Lovely dinner, great value with the dimmi deal. Always reliable for delicious food.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    7/10

    Food was good, but spritz was disappointing, no effort made but poured all ingredients into a glass of ice. We had 50% food promotion, otherwise would have costed over $50 per person. Overall, over priced food and over priced drinks, I don’t think I will go back even if the 50% dinning offer is on again. There are too many good options in East Vic Park.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9.5/10

    nice food, good portions, great service!

  26. Iris G.
    Iris G.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    It was lovely and will go back to when there’s 50% off again. Probably won’t pay full price for the food there

  27. Iris G.
    Iris G.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    It was lovely!

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    8.75/10

    Brilliant value with the dimmi deal, and the staff are all so friendly and polite. Our water was constantly filled up and the food was yum. Mac and cheese especially. It is relaxing and welcoming, everyone looked like they were enjoying themselves!

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.25/10

    Generous serves. Fresh ingredients. Friendly staff. With Dimmi 50% an amazing bargain

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8/10

    Nice food and service. Love the lamb ribs.

  31. Oliver P.
    Oliver P.
    • 7 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food and drinks are good. Food menu is a bit small since it's mostly for sharing (not many mains).

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    9.5/10

    Had a most enjoyable evening

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9/10

    Highly recommended

  34. Sandra G.
    Sandra G.
    • 7 reviews
    9.25/10

    great menu, wine list and service

  35. Sharon C.
    Sharon C.
    • 25 reviews
    8.5/10

    Fantastic value on the 50% off food bill. Food was yum!

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 288 reviews
    5.75/10

    Food was very average

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    7.75/10

    Tasty food and good service

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 295 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food and service was awesome. will go back again.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.75/10

    We had an early dinner, so the atmosphere was chilled and relaxed. Staff were very attentive to our every need. Food was delicious!

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    7.5/10

    Burger and chips were great.