128 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8
128 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.2)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Tue, 23 Oct 2012

(10)
Waitress was fantastic

dined on Fri, 19 Oct 2012

(10)
The service was excellent and they made the birthday girl of the party feel special! The food was enjoyed by all and the wine too!
Eliza

dined on Sun, 14 Oct 2012

(10)
Lovely night out. Great service. Try the sticky date pudding!

dined on Sat, 13 Oct 2012

(10)
Outstanding menu and service. This is exactly what a gastropub should be. Great food and service without loosing a pubs informality and atmosphere. The meals were all well presented tasty and cooked to perfection.o had the morrocan chicken. Excellent well-balanced flavours. On a Resteraunt strip such as Brunswick street Fitzroy there's no room for second rate. The provincial hotel is not only fantastic, for my money it stands head and shoulders above its competitors.
Lynne

dined on Tue, 25 Sep 2012

(10)
Relaxing atmosphere. An enjoyable experience.

dined on Sat, 8 Sep 2012

(4)
I booked online, via Dimmi, a table for 4 people and we were placed on a one small table, instead of 2 tables as other groups of 4 were on, extremely uncomfortable, hadly enough room for our wine glasses,wine bottle, water glasses, water bottle small plates and cutlery. We orderd entrees to share but there was not enough room on the table so we had to have a plate in front of each of us and pass the plateds round the tsble. The food was excellent but the wine was extremely expensive. A bottle of red we regularly buy at $15, was $57, we have never paid more than $30 at other restaurants for the same bottle. We will not be returning to The Provincial.

dined on Sun, 2 Sep 2012

(10)
An excellent experience

dined on Fri, 31 Aug 2012

(6)
Staff were very pleasant but I found the service was confused, maybe some of the staff were in training? 3 of our party ordered the beef ragu pasta, but it looked and tasted very much like a beef bourguignon (curiously - that was the special for the day) chunks of beef (a little dry) in a gravy sauce poured over pasta. The Kransky special was well prepared and very tasty.
Katherine

dined on Fri, 24 Aug 2012

(10)
Fantastic food and atmosphere....

dined on Sat, 18 Aug 2012

(0)
The restaurant is a shocker. The service levels and the food quality has deteriorated terribly over the years. The roof caved in with water from the male toilet upstairs. The moved us from our table to a table only a meter from the water issues...no health department would have allowed that. The compensated us by paying for our drinks and dry cleaning bills but then argued we had to pay for a meal that was incorrectly delivered to us. A powerhouse steak was ordered and it was clearly not that. The chef insisted we pay for it and that he would show us his meat bucket to support his claims. Terrible customer service. The meals that arrived looked ordinary and worse than any pub meal I have ever had. They need to close up and start again elsewhere! Melbourne does not deserve a restaurant on Brunswick Street of such shocking standards.
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Specials

Let's Do Brunch 'Long Weekend Edition' $60pp

Package may be allocated on the Rooftop, or Courtyard. Two hour drinks package including house wines, mimosas, Aperol Spritzs, selected beers and assorted brunch bites. Available 26th-28th January (Saturday, Sunday & Monday). Terms and Conditions - Confirmation of your booking is required 48 hours prior to your booking time, don’t worry we will call to confirm! - We take the credit card as a security only. Nothing will be charged to your card. Your bill is to be paid in full at the arrival for your reservation, the package will begin after that. - If you choose to cancel your reservation less than 48 hours before your booking time or fail to show up, there may incur a charge of 50% of the set menu price charged to the card provided at time of booking. - Tables will be allocated by the venue. - When notified of food allergies & intolerances we will take all due care to ensure meals or beverages served are free from notified products. However, we cannot guarantee that the meals or beverages will be free from trace elements. - Please note that we require at least 7 days notice with dietary requirements.
When
26 Jan 2019 - 28 Jan 2019
Sun, Mon, Sat 11:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Provincial Hotel

Party at the Prov. Whether you’re meeting mates pre or post footy, attending a hen’s, bucks or birthday party, listening to live music or comedy or curled up in the infamous Chesterfield sofa in the front bar, there’s partying to be done at The Provincial Hotel. One of Fitzroy’s most famous pubs, located on Brunswick Street in the heart of bohemian Fitzroy. Its shabby flaking façade hides a warm and friendly main bar, with open fire in winter, and a cool breeze blowing through the windows in summer. We love both the main restaurant and large courtyard, and marvel at how it consistently fills with diners for lunch and dinner, seven days a week. The menu is extensive, with Australian and International flavours and something for everyone. We order the Twice pulled pork soft shell tacos, Portuguese barramundi, wontons with nam jim sauce or just a traditional steak or parma meal. Best Dish: Caramelised Pork Belly

The Provincial Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

73
2.5/5