Back

Reviews - The Rose Hotel

7.2/10

based on 105 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Mena L.
    Mena L.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Great venue, so good for catching up with friends. Great atmosphere and excellent food. Atmosphere good, and friendly staff and attentive service.

  2. Wendy C.
    Wendy C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great to be able to meet mates at the pub, I had the scrumptious chickpea salad. Service was amazingly quick. Hard to generate a great atmosphere due to the covid restrictions, no fault of The Rose.

  3. Zainab A.
    Zainab A.
    • 2 reviews
    4/10

    Yet again, we had to wait extended periods for our food despite making a group booking. Would assume the kitchen and bar would have an idea of how many staff they require, but they were definitely understaffed and the whole experience was just stressful and disappointing. Food was average too. Won't be returning.

  4. Karen T.
    Karen T.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    My friends and I had tix at the Seymour Centre for Ocean Film Festival and were looking for somewhere to dine beforehand. I found this little gem online and it looked great with mostly great reviews. It is a little gem and the food was terrific. We had the weekly specials which were a good size and really economical. This place has a great vibe and extensive range of on-tap beer/cider. It was pretty busy and we were served with plenty of time. Glad we booked through The Fork so we had no trouble with seating. We'll be back :)

  5. Jill P.
    Jill P.
    • 6 reviews
    7/10

    Super busy, great atmosphere and had great service. Our food came quickly. Very conveniently located across the road from the Seymour Centre. Generous servings of good food.

  6. Lauren J.
    Lauren J.
    • one review
    3/10

    It took more than 1.5 hours for everyone in the group to get their food, and lots of our meals were wrong so had to be remade. Worst experience we have had at The Rose - very disappointing.

  7. Tanja B.
    Tanja B.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    We had dinner before a Seymour Centre show - 3 kids 2 adults. Food came quickly, was tasty and good value. The girl on the food register was very helpful and friendly. Front bar needed more staff as the 1 guy wasn’t coping and it wasn’t busy.

  8. Katie Y.
    Katie Y.
    • 40 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome! The Rose is great. Love coming here for lunch.

  9. Katie Y.
    Katie Y.
    • 40 reviews
    10/10

    Can’t go wrong with the Rose. Great food, central location, good beer choices.

  10. Katie Y.
    Katie Y.
    • 40 reviews
    10/10

    Can’t go wrong with the Rose. Great food, ideal drinks, good vibe.

  11. Katie Y.
    Katie Y.
    • 40 reviews
    10/10

    The Rose is awesome :) great good, good drinks range and good atmosphere.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    10/10

    Love The Rose!! Everything about this place is awesome.

  13. Emma M.
    Emma M.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Great pub with amazing beer garden

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    10/10

    love love love the Rose! Great spot for lunch, there are specials too.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    10/10

    The Rose is awesome!! Great spot for lunch - I love coming here with my dog as they are pupper friendly. Highly recommended!

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    10/10

    The Rose is fantastic!! Dog friendly.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    10/10

    Great spot for lunch!! Super yummy food. Great atmosphere.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    7/10

    The pizzas were excellent but the menu was a bit pricey for fancy "pub" food in a noisy pub

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    10/10

    The Rose is awesome!! Such a great spot. Yummy lunch, good beers, good vibes. Love it.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    10/10

    Such a great lunch spot! The lunch specials are great too. Would recommend :)

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    10/10

    Had a birthday party and it was the perfect venue for it. Very clean and cool atmosphere. Great beer selection. Everyone was super nice and helpful, and they even let us bring in a big cake for the group.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    10/10

    Yummy pizza special :)

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    10/10

    Great lunch specials! Yummy beer. Dog friendly.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    5.25/10

    Warning - smoking is permitted in the "beer garden" section of the bistro, which is not separated from the dining area by anything. I wasn't given any indication of this when I booked. It was disgusting, and our table was directly adjacent to the smoking area, not even separated by 4m as required by law. Never again.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    10/10

    Great pizza lunch specials on Mondays. Would recommend.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    0/10

    Bookings were marked by notices on the tables. The pub was very crowded and noisy. We could not find our booked table. There was no one available to ask. We were pleased to leave without eating.

  27. Cathy M.
    Cathy M.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    We went pre theatre, so were pleased with speed of service. I was with 2 vegetarians and they had only the veggie burgers to choose, so this was very disappointing given the location and clientele of The Rose. Other meals were very good

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9.5/10

    I loved the place. The food was excellent but if you are a non smoker you can't help being disturbed by the smoke coming in from the smoking area balcony as there is no division.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    0.5/10

    Arriving at the venue we could not find our table but joined the queue for food. We placed our order to be told that the advertised menu wasn't available as they had a function that took all the kitchens staff and only Pizzas were being made for the dining area. I cannot eat Pizza so having driven over an hour and as it was a preshow dinner no time to go anywhere else - I was reasonably angry. The order taker told us "no problems" as we left. It wouldn't have been a problem f they had told us when we booked that they weren't serving dinner that night.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 292 reviews
    9/10

    Great for pre theatre, good menu and beer

  31. Patricia H.
    Patricia H.
    • one review
    8/10

    We were very taken with Fork, atmosphere seemed great and food looked so appetizing, the perfect venue for a pre-theatre meal. Unfortunately, yesterday was not to be our day, we were on time and waited 45 minutes, but were told that our order would be at least another 30, in which case we would have missed our show. We received a complete refund, no argument, staff apologetic. We'll try again hopefully with more luck next time.

  32. Anne F.
    Anne F.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Didn’t have our reservation on arrival so no table booked (this happened to 3 other groups also that we heard/saw) .No huge drama for us as a pleasant young guy behind the bar sorted it out super fast and sat us in the parlour area - not quite the same tho for some of the other people who dealt with different staff. One group was told to go out and have a look around to see if they could find something themselves (they left). We were chatting but suddenly realised our food was taking ages when the table next to us got theirs (they’d ordered after we had) so we went to find out why - only to discover it had been sitting on the counter. No explanation and no apology offered sadly - my Spring rolls were tasty but cold and friends hamburger and chips looked good but also were cold! I’ve been to The Rose several times before and had a great time but this was a very disappointing visit and somewhat embarrassing as it was my personal suggestion to head there as a great spot to eat prior to visiting The Seymour Centre for a show.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    5.25/10

    busy but very slow bar service

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8/10

    The waitress should try smiling.

  35. Sandra C.
    Sandra C.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Great atmosphere...great value

  36. Jan v.
    Jan v.
    • 4 reviews
    6.75/10

    Dining area was somewhat dingy but Steak Pie was a standout! Full of tender beef pieces, just enough gravy and really crisp flaky pastry made it a pie to remember.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    9.25/10

    Delicious food and huge servings. Great atmosphere with seating available for both the pub vibe and the quiet diners. Plus theres a free drink if youre going to a Seymour performance later!

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    7.5/10

    The service was good, but delivery of food was a different story; It took almost 35 minutes for two main and one entree dish to come out, making me anxious that I was going to be late to the theatre performance across the road. Food is basic, nothing spectacular, quite disappointing considering the 'pub grub' menu was fancy. Most likely would not return.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9/10

    Great for a drink & bite to eat before a show at Seymour Centre

  40. Diana A.
    Diana A.
    • 2 reviews
    8.25/10

    This place never gets old. Always good vibes, good food, good drinks.