Back

Reviews The Royal On The Waterfront

7.8/10

based on 435 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Michelle D.
    Michelle D.
    • 9 reviews
    5/10

    the service for drinks wasn't the best, they were quick with the water but not other drinks, need more of a selection of food, we had several waiters keep coming up to ask if we wanted drinks...that was a bit annoying

  2. Trish A.
    Trish A.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff and the service they provided was excellent, very accommodating. The food was lovely and the evening was very enjoyable. Many Thanks

  3. Michael D.
    Michael D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great staff. Great food Good atmosphere Will be a return customer for sure............................................................

  4. Robert John B.
    Robert John B.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Our group has been coming to The Royal on the Waterfront for many years, the last time was in March. As we all know a lot has happened since March in the hospitality industry. At the Royal the regular staff seem to have been replaced by very young, almost "work experience" level people. This way have been forced upon the management due to the Covid pandemic, but it certainly lead to an "unusual" lunch. Working out who paid for what at the end of the meal was laborious and confusing. All over not as pleasant an experience as it was in the past. Food quality slipped a bit also.

  5. Bob O.
    Bob O.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    The staff members for our table were awesome, once again!! Very attentive, we didn't have to wait to be served, or noticed, for each order. The Margherita Pizza was sensational!! All the other meals didn't wow so much this time but it won't stop us from coming back.

  6. Vicki B.
    Vicki B.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent service well prepared and presented food.

  7. Bob O.
    Bob O.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Menu was reduced as it was game day but everything we ordered was delicious!! Will definitely be coming back as it is now our new local only recently moving into the area.

  8. Valerie S.
    Valerie S.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Love the location and beautiful views of Claisebrook Cove. However the menu was limited today, perhaps this is a product of COVID challenges so understandable. My squid was tasty & small but a few salad leaves & chips with it would have been perfect. Cauliflower vegan dish amazing and pizzas looked good. Attentive service and appreciate the exception of splitting the bill with a large group of ladies ! We will be back, loyal customers with our birthday gatherings.

  9. Helen M.
    Helen M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent lunch at the Royal today. Food was great as was the bottle of rose recommended by the waiter. Service was very professional. It took us back to Europe where ‘waiting’ is a profession rather than a fill in job.

  10. Natalie c.
    Natalie c.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Loved the food and attentive service. Gluten free options were great???? Nice cocktails. Pumpkin pizza was good. Easy to book and lots of options

  11. Roberta T.
    Roberta T.
    • 21 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely service from Frederick and all the staff and tasty food overall. Very nice location near the water. We would have liked cheesecake for dessert but they didn't have any on the menu, hopefully next time!

  12. Victoria H.
    Victoria H.
    • 18 reviews
    7.5/10

    Had a nice lunch here with friends, good choice of food for adults and kids. Was a little disappointed when asked if we could order separately between the two families we were told no and that we also couldn’t split the bill.

  13. Halina S.
    Halina S.
    • 19 reviews
    8/10

    Good food and service. Great views and sorounds.

  14. Judith N.
    Judith N.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    Due to recent COVID restrictions we were unable to get maximum benefit from the Royal the menu and staff were limited,but the food and service was good Will be going back

  15. Corry W.
    Corry W.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    Meals were small portions for the price. There was nothing green no garnishes or small salad on either of the meals. Chocolate cake for desert tasted store bought and the ice cream of some description was awful. Service was average. No one came to ask if we wanted desert or coffee or the bill we had to flag someone down on several occasions. The maitre d’ was keen for feedback however and seem to take it on board.

  16. Helen H.
    Helen H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely atmosphere great food and good service. Lovely scenery.

  17. Geoff P.
    Geoff P.
    • 25 reviews
    10/10

    Good friendly service with a wide variety of food options and well structured wine list. Al fresco seating was pleasant on a warm night with plenty of room between tables. Well worth a visit.

  18. Ivana S.
    Ivana S.
    • one review
    4/10

    Booked in for a lunch for my birthday. Food was not outstanding and did not meet our expectations, even when it was returned and brought back, in an effort to correct the meal. I requested an outside table but was given inside. Venue would not open bi-fold doors or move us, even we asked due to the heat. I am unlikely to eat there again.

  19. Kate W.
    Kate W.
    • 7 reviews
    5/10

    The steak was overcooked, so was the chicken. The outdoor seating was so dark and you could hardly see the menu. The service was okay. Won’t go back again.

  20. Tina K.
    Tina K.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Waiter is horrible and awkward. He doesn’t welcome us and being very arrogant. The food is very fair with the price and the portion is great. The view is amazing.

  21. Miriam S.
    Miriam S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great night out staff really friendly waitress apologised about meals coming out little but we were happy to keep drinking and soak up the atmosphere, the setting & place is amazing id definately go back. Well done to staff and chefs.

  22. Vicki B.
    Vicki B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely restaurant, setting is gorgeous. The food was really good and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Can’t fault this place. Love it.

  23. Ian B.
    Ian B.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Food was fine. We like the location. Wine list pricey. Service unfortunately was poor. Took a long time to get drinks order and even longer to come. One desert request never arrived at all.

  24. Danielle F.
    Danielle F.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Went to the trouble of booking a table and had a confirmation email but they knew nothing about the booking. Ordered some chips which had clearly been sitting for too long in the kitchen-soggy and cold. Sent them back and got a marginally better replacement.

  25. Jackin C.
    Jackin C.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Magnificent setting and great food a pity the table was still dirty when we sat down Had a lovely evening and our overseas guests enjoyed the experience

  26. Susi S.
    Susi S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The prawn pasta on the menu was delicious. Nice portion of fish and chips

  27. Steve Y.
    Steve Y.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    I had the oysters , two of which were “off”. I asked the waitperson to return them to the chef for review. The chef agreed and provided three replacement oysters. Not good enough. We were then asked to pay for the oysters, an insult to say the least. This used to be a good Resturant with great food. I am sorry to say it is not at the moment. I will not be returning!!!!

  28. Bengt F.
    Bengt F.
    • 51 reviews
    7/10

    A little overcooked but nice tasting spagetti with prawns/garlic. Nice spot for a restaurant. Good & friendly service.

  29. Kieren G.
    Kieren G.
    • one review
    4/10

    I don't normally write reviews but I finally felt strongly enough to make a comment. The food was a bit underwhelming but satisfactory. The waiter sneezing, using the cubicle and not washing his hands was not...

  30. Erika C.
    Erika C.
    • 5 reviews
    6/10

    Food was fine. Expensive though. And we thought the calamari was out of a box (frozen). The chips surely must have been. The drinks were super expensive too. The view is nice though.

  31. Gurmeet V.
    Gurmeet V.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Had a very unpleasant experience. It was our 41st anniversary & went for lunch with myfamily visiting fr overseas. The place was not crowded & yet the food took ages to arrive. We ordered Burrata which was not Burrata. There was no cream in the cheese . It was just bread with tomatoes & some fresh mozzarella. The mains took more than an hour & were terribly disappointing. The pizza base was so hard that you struggled to bite it. There were supposed to be 4 types of mushrooms but there were just some slices of mushrooms scattered on the dough (definitely not pizza dough). One of our guests got his beer 45 minutes after ordering it. We have been to the Royal on numerous occassions over the years but this was the worst experience ever. Would not recommend to anyone.

  32. John D.
    John D.
    • one review
    4/10

    Barramundi was too soft and like a paste, asked for likely grilled so it would be a paste. Cesar salad was over salted. The waitress was not friendly and removed our entree without even asking if we had finished, lost a good piece of popcorn chicken.

  33. Leah B.
    Leah B.
    • one review
    6/10

    We waited 10-15 minutes for drinks (There was water on the table though). I ordered prawns, and while they were nice, simply cold cooked prawns with a bowl to wash my fingers and some tartare sauce and some bread! Could have gone to my local seafood shop and bought these for a third of the price...very disappointing...

  34. Paula  M.
    Paula M.
    • one review
    5/10

    The atmosphere wasn't very pleasant, the wait staff poorly presented, the food servings were a good size, however, not at all exciting or interesting to taste. We were disappointed that the bill was not able to be separated. Given that a great deal of your customers would be groups of office workers, this should be a basic offering. Also, the bathroom facilities could do with a good clean and the door to one of the stalls did not lock.

  35. Amy y.
    Amy y.
    • one review
    3/10

    Been here plenty of times and enjoyed the food and service, but this visit was awful. Service was poor, staff were not in tune with what was going on. The new menu is overpriced and boring. There are no longer Chefs in the kitchen, just people prepping food. Stick to the bar and go elsewhere for food.

  36. Liz F.
    Liz F.
    • one review
    7/10

    The food here used to be above your average pub grub, but they’ve lowered the variety and quality. Staff attentive on arrival but after that you have to fend for yourself. Always a nice place to sit and waste some time

  37. Trevor G.
    Trevor G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Location excellent. Service great. Food very good. Would like to see more choice or a specials board. Would definitely recommend and will be going again.

  38. KAREN G.
    KAREN G.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    A nice spot for a casual meal ,food was tasty and serving sizes were good. The table service was excellent..Staff were very welcoming.Would definitely come here again.

  39. Amanda D.
    Amanda D.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The setting was beautiful, the food was excellent. The only negative was the service. They forgot to order for one of our group so the rest of us had finished our meal and the 4th meal still hadn’t come out. We inquired as to why and were told that it hadn’t been put though with the rest of the order. She was very apologetic and gave us a free round of drinks. Then when it finally came out it was the wrong order, so it had to go back and we had to wait again! When the correct order finally came out we were not charged for it, so they did fix their mistakes. Overall, food great, setting great, service needs improvement.

  40. Graham H.
    Graham H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great location. Excellent service. Very good food. Would happily recommend to my friends. Enjoyed our lunch very much. Will be going back soon.