Back

Reviews The Royal On The Waterfront

8.2/10
Very good
based on 362 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Liz F.
    Liz F.
    • one review
    7/10

    The food here used to be above your average pub grub, but they’ve lowered the variety and quality. Staff attentive on arrival but after that you have to fend for yourself. Always a nice place to sit and waste some time

  2. Trevor G.
    Trevor G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Location excellent. Service great. Food very good. Would like to see more choice or a specials board. Would definitely recommend and will be going again.

  3. KAREN G.
    KAREN G.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    A nice spot for a casual meal ,food was tasty and serving sizes were good. The table service was excellent..Staff were very welcoming.Would definitely come here again.

  4. Eric D.
    Eric D.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The setting was beautiful, the food was excellent. The only negative was the service. They forgot to order for one of our group so the rest of us had finished our meal and the 4th meal still hadn’t come out. We inquired as to why and were told that it hadn’t been put though with the rest of the order. She was very apologetic and gave us a free round of drinks. Then when it finally came out it was the wrong order, so it had to go back and we had to wait again! When the correct order finally came out we were not charged for it, so they did fix their mistakes. Overall, food great, setting great, service needs improvement.

  5. Graham H.
    Graham H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great location. Excellent service. Very good food. Would happily recommend to my friends. Enjoyed our lunch very much. Will be going back soon.

  6. Helen R.
    Helen R.
    • 10 reviews
    6/10

    Unfortunately this visit to our local was appalling. As locals in East Perth, we want this venue to be able to survive and have consistency in food and service. The service, or lack thereof was very very disappointing. My fish was uncooked and after sending it back to be cooked a little more I did not see the waitress again and when the rest of the table had finished their mains I found the waitress and told her not to bother finding my meal. Really need to lift the standard here. The saving grace On the night was the wine and of course the location.

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.5/10

    Some meals small portions

  8. Paul M.
    Paul M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    great food and setting, bistro did seem a little understaffed and points meaning drinks service was a little slow. All in all will visit again soon.

  9. Yusof m.
    Yusof m.
    • 6 reviews
    7/10

    Great location and views, but expensive food. A recent management change ( a week ago) meant we could not go up and order indivually as we used to unless you sat in the pub section, but then you were unable to reserve a table - weird. Service reasonable, however a diner in our group received her food 30 minutes after the first plate was served.

  10. Christine H.
    Christine H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Food was good although it took some time to receive our meals

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    7/10

    Good sized portions. Food was tasty although some of the dishes (fish and chips & pizza were a little too oily). Great location with pleasant views out from Claisebrook Cove to the stadium. Service was timely but the staff looked like they could’ve made more of an effort on their appearance.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7/10

    A great lunch out on the patio on a sunny day so enjoyed the ambience. Nice lunch, wine on the pricey side.

  13. David t.
    David t.
    • 6 reviews
    8.75/10

    Service was fairly prompt food was very good especially the fish & chips they were excellent and exactly the right portion size

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    7.75/10

    We had a very enjoyable night with friends and look forward in doing it again.

  15. Gordon R.
    Gordon R.
    • one review
    5.25/10

    I ordered the Barramundi which was a tiny serve (which tasted ok) but I got nothing with it regards vegies etc. I also had the Bruchetta expecting it to be like most other restaurants.........I wouldn't even call it the same name. I also had a cheesecake dessert which was nice. Also we weren't warned about having to sit in the same room as a wedding reception. Pity as I have had really good food in previous visits. Cheers Gordon

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    8.5/10

    Always pleasant

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8/10

    Had a very pleasant lunch even though we had quite a long wait for our food.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly staff and delicious food.

  19. Tim H.
    Tim H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    I had a steak that was not not well done as requested the wait staff and chef explained that had received the wrong order by mistake they immediately corrected the mistake and whilst not at all unhappy we were provided a complimentary wine. Excellent service friendly staff and happy to recommend the Royal.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    9.25/10

    Food was great and the service was outstanding!