What
Where

Pub Grub Family Friendly

The Sands Hotel

8.4/10
174 reviews

Average price $22

Free serviceInstant booking

Make a booking on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Restaurant menu

  • Average price $22 Special request
CHICKEN SCHNITZEL
$19

crumbed chicken breast with garden salad, chips, lemon & gravy

CHICKEN PARMIGIANA
$23

schnitzel, tomato sugo, leg ham, mozzarella with garden salad & chips

GRILLED OR BEER BATTERED FISH & CHIPS
$20

with garden salad, lemon & tartare sauce

Full menu(s)

To see complete menu(s), please click here:SEE MENU(s)SEE MENU(s)

See à la carte and set menus

User photos

We still don’t have any photos from our users

Make a booking at this restaurant and be the first to share some pictures.

Ratings & Reviews

Very good
8.4/10
based on 174 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
Quality of food :8.6/10
Service :8.7/10
Setting :7.9/10
  1. Michelle G.
    Michelle G.
    • one review
    10/10

    My steak was cooked perfectly medium rare, we also had special bread that was made especially for us, yumm. The service was excellent and timely. Would go again.

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your 10/10 review Michelle. We hope to see you again soon :-)

  2. Neha N.
    Neha N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Good staff , yummy and good quality food, excellent service.........really enjoy the food in nice atmosphere with family and friends ...love it

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your 10/10 review Neha. We hope to see you & your family again soon :-)

  3. Jay M.
    Jay M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Great way to celebrate a birthday amidst the current climate! We picked this place as it usually has a unique and fantastic menu that caters to diverse eaters, so getting back to this this could be great :)

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your review Jay. We hope to see you again soon :-)

  4. Nicole M.
    Nicole M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food is always great. Atmosphere is different with covid-19 but the company was good. Its nice to have table service for drinks and food. Great night. We have booked again.

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your 10/10 review Nicole. We forward to seeing you again soon :-)

  5. Debra B.
    Debra B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Staff were very welcoming and friendly, food was excellent and loved the prompt table service. Everything was clean and inviting. Will definitely rebook.

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your great review Debra. We look forward to seeing you again :-)

  6. Amanda K.
    Amanda K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic service. Fish was amazing. Friendly staff, social distancing done really well. Made to feel so welcome. Highly recommend. Great for families

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your amazing review & feedback Amanda. We look forward to seeing you next time :-)

  7. Michele G.
    Michele G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    First time at the Sands. Great service and good food. Lack of atmosphere due to covid19 and social distancing. All in all, a lovely place, will definitely return.

    The Sands Hotel

    Welcome to The Sands Michelle!! Thank you for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again :-)

  8. Donna M.
    Donna M.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was excellent and we are more than happy to help our local as much as we can during these weird times. So glad they can at least open. Pama’s and steaks are delicious and the pepper sauce is to die for

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for you fabulous review Donna! So nice seeing everyone again :-)

  9. Taylah O.
    Taylah O.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming and made our dine very easy and pleasant. The food was prompt, and had lots of flavour. Happy with our experience!

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your fabulous review & 10/10 feedback! We hope to see you again soon :-)

  10. Robert B.
    Robert B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Flawless ,Tasty ,attentive ,highly recommended.

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your 10/10 review & wonderful feedback Robert. We hope to see you again soon :-)

  11. Terry H.
    Terry H.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    After my initial order I was completely ignored! I was desperate to order more drinks, dessert, etc but was never asked! 00000000000000000000

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your review & feedback Terry. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your food. We are very sorry for the service you received. We are still trying to get our heads around full table service as this isn't something we have offered in the past. I will pass this feedback onto management and staff to ensure we are getting around to everyone multiple times throughout their dining experience. We hope to see you again soon :-)

  12. Melinda S.
    Melinda S.
    • one review
    5/10

    We are regulars at this pub- its our local, so i was excited to see they were open again. When i booked, the menu online was the standard one that we always see- but when i arrived i was given the "new" menu, which was a quarter of what they normally have. I wish that was made clear when i booked. i also wish that it was clear that once in the pub, i was going to be one of less than 20 people! That needs to be shown when booking. i would not have gone if i knew both the numbers and the menu. Not sure who the person is who seated us, he was friendly enough, but did not treat us as valued regulars. My kids wanted just the kids menu, but were not allowed. We have never been refused that before. Then they also added 2 extra mains to my bill, plus the "surcharge" Thats new. Not my best experience there.

    The Sands Hotel

    Hi Melinda. Thanks for your review & feedback. I'm sorry you were not happy with your experience this time round. We have had to implement a limited menu at this stage of our re-opening process. The new menu was uploaded & updated on all socials including our online booking system when we re-opened so I'm sorry you didn't see it. As per government regulations, we are only allowed to have 20 customers per room at one time. I'm sorry if this made you feel uncomfortable but we take the health & safety of our customers very seriously & will always follow governments regulations. I'm sorry that your children were refused kids meals however as stated on all of our menus, there is an age limit & we have to follow this to be fair to everyone. The public holiday surcharge that you were charge is a standard charge that is applied to all meals on all public holidays & has been for a number of years. I'm sorry you weren't aware of this. Hopefully I have been able to help ease your concerns. We hope to see you again soon!

  13. Natalie W.
    Natalie W.
    • one review
    8/10

    Was good! We were in the function room which didn’t have any tv on or anything But was still fantastic to be able to go out and have a meal. We will be back

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your fabulous review Natalie. We look forwrad to seeing you next time :-)

  14. Raewyn W.
    Raewyn W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff, food and atmosphere given the current covid-19 restrictions were top marks. It was nice to be out enjoying a nice meal, thanks again guys!

    The Sands Hotel

    Thank you for your 10/10 review Raewyn! We hope to see you again soon :-)

  15. Niall W.
    Niall W.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great meal and service under covid service, brilliant! Great to be back here, steak cooked well, good size, price & prompt service. Was quite safe and all covid practices applied.

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your wonderful review & feedback Niall. We are so happy to see you & all of our customers again :-)

  16. Helen P.
    Helen P.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great service. This was the first time doing out since restrictions lifted from covid-19. Only issue was we got seated outside and the wind was a bit cool. Food was great.

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your great review Helen. We are sorry you were a bit cold outside. We are doing our best to get as many inside whilst making sure we are staying within the government guidelines of capacity limits. We have also ensured all heaters are working to full capacity & are only seating our outside bookings under these heaters. Again we are sorry you were uncomfortable but are very happy to hear everything else was great! We hope to see you again soon :-)

  17. Sarah I.
    Sarah I.
    • one review
    6/10

    We booked here because of the Mario event. My autistic son is obsessed with Mario. The flyer on Facebook said 5pm-8:30 and roaming artist. We arrived at 5:30 as booked and no Mario. We had to keep our son amused and happy and delay ordering as long as we could so he'd be able to see Mario. Mario came in at 6:15 and didn't venture out of the kids room to "roam" anywhere. Mario's dancer had the music up so loud it was impossible for my son to relax. He had a meltdown carrying him out around 7. Had you of put on the flyer that Mario would be on around 6:30, I'd have booked for then and avoided such a stressful dragged out visit for my son, or that mario would stay in a loud enclosed space, not booked at all.

    The Sands Hotel

    Hi Sarah. Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience at our hotel. We apologise for the misunderstanding. Our artwork states that the bistro is open from 5pm-8.30pm. We have taken on board to be more specific with the entertainers times in future & thank you for your suggestion. Have a great day :-)

  18. Stephanie T.
    Stephanie T.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    The food was delicious with very generous portions. The meals came out promptly and were lovely and hot. The staff were accommodating with any requests we had.

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your fabulous review & feedback Stephanie. We are so happy to hear we were able to provide a great experience for you. We hope to see you again soon :-)

  19. Eddie K.
    Eddie K.
    • one review
    8/10

    Staff were very friendly and efficient, and a great value for money meal. A glitch with our booking was handled quickly. Our meal arrived very quickly on what was obviously a busy night.

    The Sands Hotel

    Thanks for your great review Eddie! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our venue. We hope to see you again soon :-)

  20. Maria W.
    Maria W.
    • one review
    5/10

    The food was not up to there usual standard the chicken on menu said breast but did not look like or taste like breast meat and even thought we mentioned this they just came back and said we only serve breast meat

    The Sands Hotel

    Hi Maria. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear your meals weren't up to our usual standard but are very happy to hear you usually have a great experience & meals here. Your feedback will be followed up by our head chef. Thank you & we hope to see you again soon :-)

See all reviews

More information

How to get to the restaurant

71 Hall Road, 3201, Carrum Downs (VIC), Australia

About the restaurant

Located on Hall Road, The Sands Hotel is the perfect place for your next relaxing lunch or dinner gathering. With a diverse menu with a range of cuisines, there is sure to be something for everyone! Come in and try some of the favourites from our Classic Beer Battered Fish or our Nasi Goreng or perhaps our delicious Slow Cooked Pork Belly is more your style. So what are you waiting for? Grab your friends and family for relaxing and stress-free night out!

Features

,

Services

, ,

Restaurants around The Sands Hotel

Pub Grub

Seaford Hotel

Score:8.5

Seaford (VIC)

$23 average price

Italian

Ercolano

Score:9.7

Patterson Lakes (VIC)

Spanish

Puerto

Score:8.8

Patterson Lakes (VIC)

$65 average price

Australian

Patterson Lakes (VIC)

$30 average price

Indian

Subha Sandya

Score:9.8

Lyndhurst

$30 average price

Australian

Frankston (VIC)

Thai

Frankston (VIC)

Australian

Frankston (VIC)

$46 average price

Australian

Frankston (VIC)

$25 average price

Australian

Bangholme (VIC)

$30 average price

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

See more information

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Log in to TheFork Manager

Free serviceInstant booking