Back

Reviews The Stunned Mullet

9.6/10
Excellent
based on 518 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Ian C.
    Ian C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Always a very special experience. Never disappoints; staff are friendly, thoughtful and efficient. Food and wine list first class. Thanks for a memorable lunch.

  2. Radhika R.
    Radhika R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Gorgeous location sith a beach view. Chose oysters for entre and this was amazing-best oysters I have had in my life! Loved the crispy duck leg and scallops too with a matched glass of wine-would recommend

  3. Lis H.
    Lis H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We had a lovely lunch with a friendly welcome and attentive service. The food was modern and fresh using interesting flavours and textures. The extensive wine list means no one is disappointed and the view out over Town Beach amazing. Little touches included the pastry chef piping a happy birthday message across my dessert plate which was very kind. We cant wait to return with friends when they visit us in Port Macquarie.

  4. Graeme W.
    Graeme W.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    The starter sour dough bread served with smoky oil was delicious, Oysters 3 ways perfect & the main meal choice of tooth fish in a miso broth was perfectly cooked. All enjoyed with a delightful recommended Riesling. Dessert of a citrus tart with black sesame ice cream. Excellent service, good atmosphere - loved the 3 unique colourful paintings on display! Small venue with ocean views.

  5. Tony W.
    Tony W.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The quality and presentation of each of our 3 course meal were to our satisfaction. We had no complaints and returned several days later for another meal. I didn't get a name, but we were served by 2 waiters that may have been brothers and both had good knowledge of wine and all items on the agenda. When we go to Port Mac next we will drop in again, for sure. Tony & Col

  6. Merryl k.
    Merryl k.
    • one review
    7/10

    Everything was really really nice until my medium cooked steak came out rare. I was able to eat only about a third. No apology, only an offer to recook which I declined. And the waiter was less 'friendly' after I pointed it out. I felt the way their mistake was handled was poor. A hatted restaurant should be able to cook a steak to the customers preference correctly. The rest of the meal was superb.

  7. MARKO S.
    MARKO S.
    • 3 reviews
    6.5/10

    Great location...Good service......Sir...…..You cant order a side with your main??….Really We had a steak and a Lamb steak.....No veggies no mash no sides whatsoever.....The supermarket is only 800 meters away.....Not good...we were looking forward to a long afternoon.....We ate and left....Ps how come the kids meal had chips??

  8. Ryan C.
    Ryan C.
    • one review
    10/10

    It doesn’t get much better than this, fantastic setting overlooking the beach, perfect wine, incredible food and top staff. Thanks to Lou and James

  9. Natalie P.
    Natalie P.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely atmosphere and food, will come back

  10. Cheryl  C.
    Cheryl C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We ate at this restaurant on their first night open after the COVID shutdown.Great to see them open again and making social distancing a priority.The food and up to its usual high standard. They are doing a 3 or 4 course option which is understandable given the current circumstances.

  11. mark o.
    mark o.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of the best meal's i have ever eaten.... The service was second to none. I would recommend to anyone who loves great food and wine.. Does not disappoint.

  12. Valerie N.
    Valerie N.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    This little restaurant certainly deserves its very high rating on various websites, including The Fork. The wine by the glass is quite reasonably priced, as are some of the cocktails. There’s a good amount of information about specialty spirits and wines. The food is quite expensive. Very interesting melange of flavours. I had their signature dish, the Toothfish, and it was very buttery and sweet. However, the entrees were a bit “so-so”! My husband had Canadian scallops. There were two of them, for $27.00. They were delicious, but not worth $27.00. I had a “Tomato Emotion” entree. Very fresh and tasty, but also overpriced at $24.00. Desserts......we both had the same thing, the creme caramel, for $20 each. It was unusual, with such a variety of flavours in all its parts, that we felt this was worth the price tag. We went to The Stunned Mullet knowing that it would be expensive. It was a special experience and we feel grateful that we were able to have it.

  13. Helen W.
    Helen W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Just superb .... and excellent wine list. Don’t think I’ve ever tasted fish so divine. Presentation was excellent. Staff were professional and attentive.

  14. Jill and Chris  W.
    Jill and Chris W.
    • one review
    10/10

    We enjoyed a superb meal and service at The Stunned Mullet overlooking Town Beach.. Highly recommend the Scampi Linguine and the scallops for entrees. Both were delicious. For mains the Glacier Tooth fish and King fish had amazing flavours..Definately 10/10

  15. Kylie v.
    Kylie v.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and exceptional service. We had a wonderful experience. Thank you Lou for your warmth and hospitality. The restaurant is an absolute credit to you.

  16. Susan D.
    Susan D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Well what can I say... my husband and I dined here last night for our wedding anniversary, the staff were incredibly polite and charming. The ambience pleasant as we sat next to the window overlooking Town Beach. The food was outstanding and an enticing presentation. Well done to the Chef and staff for a memorable evening.

  17. Glenda B.
    Glenda B.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a lovely venue to spend our 56th wedding anniversary at. The atmosphere, food and service was excellent. They made us feel special! Would highly recommend!

  18. Kirrily P.
    Kirrily P.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was amazing. A cut above anything I have ever tasted. Will definitely be back. The service was great too. Knowledge of the food and drinks menu was thorough.

  19. David C.
    David C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We have been a little hesitant since we have been in Port but we have heard so many good reports about this restaurant that we had a special occasion and decided we would give it a go. Absolutely fantastic...service, food, ambience....It's not cheap but for a special night out we were very impressed and had a wonderful culinary and dining experience..Thankyou to the staff for your attention and service.

  20. Lisa B.
    Lisa B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our second visit to this beautiful restaurant. Loved the food , service and overall experience on both occasions. Can’t recommend highly enough .

  21. Ben  R.
    Ben R.
    • 4 reviews
    7.5/10

    Seaside venue was intimate and modern. Extensive wine list. Quite a delay between starter and main (perhaps 40 mins) which can work sometimes, but we were hungry! Suggest ordering sides for the main dishes.

  22. Stacey M.
    Stacey M.
    • one review
    10/10

    As always an amazing dining experience thanks for the oysters duck and toothfish fantastic customer service and great relaxed atmosphere. Best restaurant in town!

  23. Guy C.
    Guy C.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food of a quality that was faultless with incredible flavour combinations. The menu and the wine list were fabulous - we enjoyed the Stella Barbera which was beautiful. Service was wonderful and pretty much up there with the best dining experiences we have ever had the privilege to enjoy. Thank you for a perfect early valentines evening

  24. Mary R.
    Mary R.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Stunned Mullet was recommended by friends and thought we would try it as it was my husband’s birthday. We were happy with everything! The staff, ambience and then the food arrived, and WOW! The best meal we have ever experienced! Thank you for a wonderful night.

  25. Roger M.
    Roger M.
    • one review
    10/10

    So good, food and service was excellent . Seating overlooking the beach and even though it was raining it was a great relaxing place to eat and dine.

  26. Kath C.
    Kath C.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a great find. Exceptional food, great service, excellent wine list. We will definitely be back. It is not often that we find a restaurant that has us planning our next trip so we can return to a restaurant, this place has. Thank you for a memorable evening.

  27. Jasmine W.
    Jasmine W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service, amazing food, great location! I would definitely be back when i next visit the region................................

  28. Faith B.
    Faith B.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a fantastic time, good food, excellent service and reception. We enjoyed the evening meal where I loved the Tomato expression ???? with the compliments of sourdough bread which cleared my pallets for the lamb that followed as mains; and my partner enjoyed the wagyu beef and natural oysters as starters.

  29. Jan B.
    Jan B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Owner Lou very attentive explaining specials. Service very good and food was great. Wide range of gin for gin and tonic and extensive, expensive wine list. Overall great meal

  30. Ian M.
    Ian M.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    Once again the food was excellent and the wine list very good.Lou was a great host and runs a lovely restaurant that we will keep coming back to again.

  31. Chris G.
    Chris G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Top food so glad we went ±++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ I don't have enough time sorry

  32. Elias E.
    Elias E.
    • one review
    10/10

    get the tooth fish

  33. Sally R.
    Sally R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Thank you for the quality of food in presentation and taste. The service was impeccable and the special Happy Birthday message on my son's dessert was delightful. A wonderful experience.

  34. Bob F.
    Bob F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Limited menu which we liked, the food and service was excellent. Very expansive wine list. For the quality of food it was not too expensive. We found the staff to be very obliging.

  35. David  B.
    David B.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Best food as always! Best Service! Love this place!

  36. Mark S.
    Mark S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    You pay for quality food and good service and the stunned mullet delivers. We will continue to make this restaurant a mandatory visit when ever we are in Port Macquarie.

  37. Annouska W.
    Annouska W.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    Great location, wine list is very extensive. Food was good though one dish the fish was a bit on the edge of being over cooked

  38. Bernie  H.
    Bernie H.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Stunned Mullet is always nothing short of superb. Every mouthful is an explosion of beautiful flavours. A truly lovely restaurant complemented with the best service anywhere.

  39. Henrik I.
    Henrik I.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Great experience.

  40. Phillip H.
    Phillip H.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was amazing, the service was wonderful and the experience is one we won’t forget anytime soon. Highly recommended - a top spot to eat and enjoy some drinks.