Back

Reviews - The View at Taronga Zoo

  1. Suellen C.
    Suellen C.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    A beautiful location but the food was of very average quality. Seemed to be the same quality as was serviced in the cafe next door. If the View is going to charge restaurant prices there should be restaurant quality service. Not ordering at the till and "the cutlery is over there help yourself"

  2. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    8.5/10

    Table service changed to order at the counter. Less waiting time.

  3. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    6.25/10

    Basic menu. Nothing flash! ??

  4. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    8.25/10

    The best seats are inside by the window. The fish n chips were good

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    4.5/10

    Food mediocre. Good portions

  6. Eric W.
    Eric W.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Food quality needs to be improved

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    4.25/10

    Rather disappointing menu with such amazing views the experience & expectations of the food did not impress - pasta should be homemade not out of a packet !!! Rather oily & unpleasant to eat - would not recommend for food just the views

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 299 reviews
    8.25/10

    The service was great and we had a lovely table, positioned for the view and alfresco which I asked for when booking. The food was fresh but a bit simple although good value except for the beef burger which was a bit overpriced.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 293 reviews
    8/10

    Gorgeous views, excellent service, a more varied menu would be appreciated but the food was nice nonetheless.

  10. Claire O.
    Claire O.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    My husband got the beef burger and chips. For the $26 it cost it was absolutely terrible,he had to leave half of it behind. Also had to ask for the toppings it was supposed to come with. Very disappointed as it was booked for a birthday lunch. The best thing about our meal was the bottled beer which couldn’t go wrong.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9.25/10

    Staff were great

  12. Tracey M.
    Tracey M.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    They were missing a key component of the dish I ordered. They said they’d run out but we’d ordered at midday for lunch. I had to ask where it was, they were just going to leave it off without explanation. It was the sole reason I’d ordered that dish. For the others on the table, the pasta was chewy and most of the food bland.

  13. CHIA-HAO H.
    CHIA-HAO H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The View was great but not perfect! A distance walk from the zoo entrance. The food was ok, not the best fish and chips that I ever eaten.

  14. Vrunda T.
    Vrunda T.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Delicious food and a must visit when at the zoo!

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    8/10

    Good portion of kids meals.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8/10

    Great food and service and good value.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    3.25/10

    Disappointed to come here just for lunch to find that it cost $47 just to get in. Understand that it inside the zoo grounds but a notification on the dimmi website would have been good. Also no notification until arrived that the zoo closed early for NYE so couldn’t even spend the day at the zoo. Meals arrived out of order.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    6.5/10

    Visited again for Christmas 2018 after a previously great experience in 2015. While the service was excellent, the food portions were tiny and quite bland. To top it off the kids ice cream sundae was supposed to have cookies, strawberries etc according to the menu, but was two scoops of ice cream with a few sprinkles on top!

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    8.25/10

    Tasty food, very efficient, lovely location on a nice day.

  20. Minsun C.
    Minsun C.
    • 18 reviews
    8.5/10

    It’s a good restaurant experience when you are at Taronga Zoo. The food is decent and the view is amazing. Shame it was a cold day and the heaters in the restaurant didn’t work so it wasn’t a comfortable experience.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great for Father's Day special lunch. Its a nice restaurant without being over the top so you feel very comfortable with children there

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    8/10

    My dish came out 10-15 mins after my partner's however the staff offered complimentary coffees to make up for the service. Drinks service was great and brought out very quickly.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great view and friendly service.

  24. Julie R.
    Julie R.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    We had a beautiful Bday lunch for my husband. Food & service were great & view was amazing.

  25. Ondine P.
    Ondine P.
    • one review
    10/10

    nice food selection, good service

  26. Matt L.
    Matt L.
    • 3 reviews
    7.25/10

    Fish and chips were nice. One kids meal was great, the other was pretty average and small (the macaroni) Good spot if you can get a table near the window. A little pricey, but understandable because of location and quality.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 240 reviews
    3.25/10

    Great views but limited menu and ordinary food.

  28. Lurdes n.
    Lurdes n.
    • 15 reviews
    8.5/10

    what a beautiful place, great service, delicious food and what an amazing view we had of our beautiful harbor :) We had parsnip soup with grilled crouton/antipasto platter and semi fredo passion fruit , OMG what a feast ! I had an amazing time with my daughter ! _Lurdes

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice view... Forgot our desserts. When we paid bill, no one remind us.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8/10

    Great lunch at the zoo with kids:)

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    9.25/10

    Excellent view, great service, nice food. Must visit if you go to Taronga Zoo!

  32. Tanya S.
    Tanya S.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Celebrating a birthday and it was just tops. Service was both friendly and fast, food and wine very good and the location/view would be hard to better any where in the world.

  33. Maggie W.
    Maggie W.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Best view and good value for money

  34. Annie Y.
    Annie Y.
    • 45 reviews
    5.75/10

    Service was friendly but it was hard to get their attention when sitting in the balcony, but as the name states we had a great view of the city and harbour. The food is definitely overpriced. Everything was average but the beer battered fish wasn’t bad but as mentioned overpriced. But you pay to get the table service and to be able to relax and enjoy the view rather than the crowds at the food court areas.

  35. Stephen S.
    Stephen S.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Good food at reasonable prices, great views, excellent service.

  36. Melissa V.
    Melissa V.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The restaurant had not all the options for the menu, the portions were too small and my salmon was rare inside. We had to eat in other place after that. The price is different from internet. The view is good but I was really upset with the food.

  37. Claudia B.
    Claudia B.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Great food and service.

  38. Laura E.
    Laura E.
    • one review
    5/10

    The worst service I have ever received in a restaurant. The person serving us was impatient and pushy to take our order, she then got the order wrong and we were ignored thereafter. At the end of our meal at the register, no one was interested in our experience, but were very happy to take our money. The food was nice, but the service (or lack thereof) is enough for me to actively tell people to not go here. Would not recommend.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great Experience

  40. Anna R.
    Anna R.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    I've been there before and had sample type plates of food which I enjoyed very much and was hoping that it was there this time, but it wasn't, so a little saddened by that. The lemons on the plate were old & the ends of the lemons, that wasn't impressive at all.