Back

Reviews Tonka

9.1/10
Excellent
based on 482 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Sally E.
    Sally E.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent food, drinks and service. Decent portion sizes for the price. Music was slightly too loud making conversation a little difficult, but we would certainly return!

  2. Ellen G.
    Ellen G.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Took my partner here for an early Christmas lunch and we both absolutely loved it. The food was delightful- we especially loved the charred broccolini. The ambience was excellent and the staff very friendly. Would certainly return for another special occasion.

  3. Sarah S.
    Sarah S.
    • 4 reviews
    9.75/10

    Fabulous experience. Will be going back again.

  4. Arlene T.
    Arlene T.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Really excellent food with great and unique flavour combinations. Friendly and good service. It’s be great if the music weren’t so loud - hard to hear our party speaking. Good wine list.

  5. Susan C.
    Susan C.
    • one review
    7/10

    I was very much looking forward to dining at Tonka as I had heard so much about it. I was a little underwhelmed unfortunately. The food was very nice but not up to the hype.

  6. Harry L.
    Harry L.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Service and the atmosphere were on point however the food was quite average. We both felt that our small local indian takeaway had more spices/fragrance/authentic in their dishes. We left content but weren't blown away by other diner reviews! Unfortunately won't be visiting again.

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    10/10

    It was our first time visit to Tonka and we were so impressed! Fantastic food & wine, and great service. We had a wonderful time and would definitely go back again.

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    6.5/10

    Very pricey for average food.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 294 reviews
    9.5/10

    A very friendly place with amazing staff and food

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    8.75/10

    Tonka is a favourite especially when we have visitors from overseas. The food is consistently good, the service is excellent and knowledgeable, and the sommelier really knows his wine. It was noted that the sommelier jumped in to lend a hand with service staff as well. My only criticism, as with many restaurants, and restaurant designers need give some thought o overcoming this problem, is that it was quite difficult to talk across the table due to the noise generally and the loudness of some over gregarious customers. Very little the restaurants can do, and understand that noise is part of the vibe, but in many many restaurants it is just too noisy.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fabulous food, wine and service. Very friendly staff and extremely helpful.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8/10

    Very tasty indeed

  13. Alice K.
    Alice K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved it, beautiful food and excellent service. Highly recommend

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    9.75/10

    appetizers were a highlight

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great culinary dining experience with great service and ambience. Only indifferent comment would be when we arrived and were left standing waiting to be taken to our table. The wait was longer than normal. Staff kept looking at us but we stood for over 3 minutes.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    10/10

    Great food - loved the desert. Get the corn fritters, zucchini flowers and butter chicken!

  17. Sarah J.
    Sarah J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing, complex, delicious, surprising food in a beautiful space with great service - couldn’t really ask for a better dinner experience!

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.5/10

    Very good food, excellent service Beef cheek biryani was our favourite main and the Avani lamb a close second

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    10/10

    Wine selection advice was wonderful

  20. Greg R.
    Greg R.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Was very pleasantly surprised at how good it was, not a bad dish amongst the ones we chose. Innovative without being stupid. Good variety of wines and price ranges. Very good service, pleasant and knowledgeable but not intrusive.