Back

Reviews Tonka

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 503 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Linda P.
    Linda P.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Everything about this restaurant is fabulous! We asked our waiter to recommend our dishes and were thrilled with the selection. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming. The food is beautifully presented and tasty. The waiter remembered us from our previous visit 2 years ago! One of our favourites.

  2. Liz A.
    Liz A.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    This was the 5th or 6th time there now and it just wasn't the same. The menu has changed and a few key dishes gone. Starters were excellent as always but the Korma just didn't cut it. Was bland and used chicken thighs not breast. Bring back the butter chicken I say.

  3. Debbie K.
    Debbie K.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was fantastic, service was great, maybe waiters could slow down a bit, they seemed a little rushed all the time, Made me feel on edge but all in all a great restaurant

  4. Siva V.
    Siva V.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Simply delicious! The modern take on Indian food is absolutely stunning, both on the plate and the palatte. Kingfish is a spectacular dish that I enjoyed to the core. Must visit!

  5. Sally E.
    Sally E.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent food, drinks and service. Decent portion sizes for the price. Music was slightly too loud making conversation a little difficult, but we would certainly return!

  6. Ellen G.
    Ellen G.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Took my partner here for an early Christmas lunch and we both absolutely loved it. The food was delightful- we especially loved the charred broccolini. The ambience was excellent and the staff very friendly. Would certainly return for another special occasion.

  7. Preetam N.
    Preetam N.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    Don't expect the normal dishes that you would normally expect in an Indian cuisine. They prepare things in their own way. Good for one time

  8. Sarah S.
    Sarah S.
    • 5 reviews
    9.75/10

    Fabulous experience. Will be going back again.

  9. Arlene T.
    Arlene T.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Really excellent food with great and unique flavour combinations. Friendly and good service. It’s be great if the music weren’t so loud - hard to hear our party speaking. Good wine list.

  10. Susan C.
    Susan C.
    • one review
    7/10

    I was very much looking forward to dining at Tonka as I had heard so much about it. I was a little underwhelmed unfortunately. The food was very nice but not up to the hype.

  11. Harry L.
    Harry L.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Service and the atmosphere were on point however the food was quite average. We both felt that our small local indian takeaway had more spices/fragrance/authentic in their dishes. We left content but weren't blown away by other diner reviews! Unfortunately won't be visiting again.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    10/10

    It was our first time visit to Tonka and we were so impressed! Fantastic food & wine, and great service. We had a wonderful time and would definitely go back again.

  13. Lacinta R.
    Lacinta R.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. We will certainly be back.

  14. Lacinta R.
    Lacinta R.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Everything was perfect as always.

  15. Lacinta R.
    Lacinta R.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    The food was delicious and the service was fantastic, my only criticism was the waitress talked us into ordering way too much food.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    6.5/10

    Very pricey for average food.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 294 reviews
    9.5/10

    A very friendly place with amazing staff and food

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    8.75/10

    Tonka is a favourite especially when we have visitors from overseas. The food is consistently good, the service is excellent and knowledgeable, and the sommelier really knows his wine. It was noted that the sommelier jumped in to lend a hand with service staff as well. My only criticism, as with many restaurants, and restaurant designers need give some thought o overcoming this problem, is that it was quite difficult to talk across the table due to the noise generally and the loudness of some over gregarious customers. Very little the restaurants can do, and understand that noise is part of the vibe, but in many many restaurants it is just too noisy.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fabulous food, wine and service. Very friendly staff and extremely helpful.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8/10

    Very tasty indeed

  21. Alice K.
    Alice K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved it, beautiful food and excellent service. Highly recommend

  22. Jackie D.
    Jackie D.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Each 'small ' plate was particularly delicious. Large plates were generous... we over ordered.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    9.75/10

    appetizers were a highlight

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great culinary dining experience with great service and ambience. Only indifferent comment would be when we arrived and were left standing waiting to be taken to our table. The wait was longer than normal. Staff kept looking at us but we stood for over 3 minutes.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    10/10

    Great food - loved the desert. Get the corn fritters, zucchini flowers and butter chicken!

  26. Sarah J.
    Sarah J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing, complex, delicious, surprising food in a beautiful space with great service - couldn’t really ask for a better dinner experience!

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.5/10

    Very good food, excellent service Beef cheek biryani was our favourite main and the Avani lamb a close second

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    10/10

    Wine selection advice was wonderful

  29. Greg R.
    Greg R.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Was very pleasantly surprised at how good it was, not a bad dish amongst the ones we chose. Innovative without being stupid. Good variety of wines and price ranges. Very good service, pleasant and knowledgeable but not intrusive.

  30. Avinash M.
    Avinash M.
    • 43 reviews
    9/10

    A bit expensive but worth it as the food was delicious . Took a while for them to get the table ready.

  31. Sandy M.
    Sandy M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Awesome food and the staff were just lovely. Booking system was a little annoying to have to pay a deposit but fair enough if people no show!

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    8.5/10

    Absolutely delicious !! We will be back ??

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8/10

    Great creative food with Indian twist - only desserts appeared uninspiring and ours was missing taste. A bit too dark for our liking.

  34. Rachel G.
    Rachel G.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Awesome service and great staff. The ocean trout is a must have.

  35. Stephen L.
    Stephen L.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    I absolutely love Tonka and took my wife for my birthday as she had never been. Whilst having a lovely meal I have to say I was completely devastated - my favourite dish (which I had been looking forward to for weeks) the Chicken Biryani had been taken off the menu. Seriously how could they. I still haven't recovered and when people asked "how was your birthday dinner at Tonka" all I can do is talk about the fact that the Chicken Biryani is no long on the menu!! I wonder if I could get the recipe and I can just make it at home :)

  36. Sophie N.
    Sophie N.
    • one review
    9/10

    We had an amazing dinner celebrating my partners birthday, the atmosphere at the restaurant was great as it was busy but not hectic the music was on point and the wait staff were friendly and polite. They ensured we picked the right amount of food and we’re very attentive. I would highly recommend this hidden gem in the city!!

  37. Kate O.
    Kate O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Jenny our waitress was superb, complete knowledge of the menu, outstanding service and made it all so pleasant and worth going back again and again! The other staff we lovely too, Jenny just made an impression!

  38. Bibi T.
    Bibi T.
    • 14 reviews
    6.5/10

    Small portions. We arrived already feeling somewhat full, and still left feeling comfortable despite spending $50 per head without drinks. The dishes were tasty enough but not groundbreaking. Service was slow and delivered with a decided air of superiority from the staff. Not a place I would return to.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 232 reviews
    10/10

    They Oysters and The Scallops and The Vindaloo Steak Tartare

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing!! Love the kingfish and the barrata cheese!