424 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9.4
424 reviews
Recommended
(9.5)
Food
(9.5)
Service
(9.6)
Value for money
(8.8)
Atmosphere
(9.0)
Phuong

dined on Sat, 22 Dec 2018

(10)
Outstanding dishes! Presentation and flavours were excellent and new. Well done !

dined on Fri, 7 Dec 2018

(9)
very elegant food

dined on Fri, 7 Dec 2018

(10)
Such an amazing meal and experience at urbane. We booked with high expectations due to other reviews that we had read. We were definitely not disappointed and would rate urbane the best meal we have had out without exception. From the warm welcoming, to the amazing service, which is attentive yet not overbearing; the attention to detail in the presentation coupled with perfection in taste, texture and mind blowing creations of which I can only describe as food wizardry, we were left totally in agreement that urbane is a very worthy recipient of three chef hats. I cannot recommend this place more highly.
Joseph

dined on Sat, 17 Nov 2018

(9)
Very nice experience

dined on Fri, 16 Nov 2018

(4)
This should have been a very special dinner with my friend which however turned into a disappointment. I had booked a table for us about 2 weeks in advance after calling to enquire whether the restaurant can cater for gluten-free options in the omnivorous degustation. It was very important for me that the staff understood that my friend had been diagnosed with the celiac disease which means that she can't eat any wheat, rye or barley that all contain gluten. The staff member assured me that this should be no problem at all. However, we were very disappointed when the way of 'catering for a celiac' was to substitute the beautiful scampi wrapped in some noodle-based cover with a not that beautiful zucchini. This was the vegan option which we had not really chosen. We pointed out that this is not right and that my friend felt treated unequally. As an alternative, it was suggested to me to swap my lamb wrapped in puff pastry with the gluten-free veg option for the purpose of equity since a gluten-free puff-pastry wouldn't be possible according to the chef. Of course I did not want to swap my lamb! Luckily, after talking to the manager, my friend got a quite delightful duck instead of the lamb but this whole treatment left us with a bitter aftertaste. It is difficult to me to recommend this place which can not cater for the dietary requirements of their customers; not even after communicating these very clearly 2 weeks in advance. I would have expected significantly more from a place where I was charged 400$ for a 2-person degustation + wine matching.

dined on Fri, 16 Nov 2018

(9)
Excellent food and great value. Some of the dishes, especially the amuse bouches were amazing. The pace of the dinner was too slow. I'm used to long fine dining dinners, 4+ hours for a 7 course dinner is a bit too much and 30 minutes between dishes, is tiring.

dined on Sat, 10 Nov 2018

(9)
Absolutely wonderful service and food, great option for a special occasion.

dined on Thu, 8 Nov 2018

(10)
A superb dining experience. Thank you
Fiona wilton

dined on Sat, 27 Oct 2018

(10)
Absolutely amazing - probably the best dining experience I have ever had. The food was stunning and the accompanying wine well thought out. I will be back without doubt.

dined on Sat, 27 Oct 2018

(9)
Wonderful dinner. Possibly over inflated wine prices but overall the evening was great and food was spectacular.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Valentine's Dinner 4 Course Degustation $125pp

4 Course Degustation 5:30pm - $125pp Menu: A glass of N/V Palmer & Co Brut Reserve On arrival 1st course Cannelloni of Zucchini, Seasoned Goats Cheese, Tomato Consommé 2nd course Kingfish, Wasabi Beurre Blanc, Baby Cos 3rd course Venison Loin, Beetroot, Macadamia, Blackberry 4th course Champagne Sabayon, Strawberry, Rose Water Ice Cream Vegetarian Menu: A glass of N/V Palmer & Co Brut Reserve On arrival 1st course Cannelloni of Zucchini, Seasoned Goats Cheese, Tomato Consommé 2nd course Potato Mousse, Roast Kipflers, Mushrooms 3rd course Creamy Polenta, Marinated Falls Farm Vegetables, Olive 4th course Champagne Sabayon, Strawberry, Rose Water Ice Cream It is the restaurant’s policy to secure the reservation with credit card details at the time of booking. In the event that the booking is not honoured or meets our cancellation terms of 48 hours, then it will be at the discretion of Urbane Restaurant to charge the amount of $125.00 or $145.00 per person.
When
14 Feb 2019
Thu 5:30 PM - 5:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Valentine's Dinner 5 Course Degustation $145pp

4 Course Degustation 8:00pm - $145pp A glass of N/V Palmer & Co Brut Reserve On arrival 1st course Cannelloni of Zucchini, Seasoned Goats Cheese, Tomato Consommé 2nd course Mixed Seafood Tagliatelle, Saffron (8pm sitting only) 3rd course Kingfish, Wasabi Beurre Blanc, Baby Cos 4th course Venison Loin, Beetroot, Macadamia, Blackberry 5th course Champagne Sabayon, Strawberry, Rose Water Ice Cream Vegetarian 4 Course Degustation: A glass of N/V Palmer & Co Brut Reserve On arrival 1st course Cannelloni of Zucchini, Seasoned Goats Cheese, Tomato Consommé 2nd course Hummus, Honey Glazed Pumpkin, Iranian Couscous (8pm sitting only) 3rd course Potato Mousse, Roast Kipflers, Mushrooms 4th course Creamy Polenta, Marinated Falls Farm Vegetables, Olive 5th course Champagne Sabayon, Strawberry, Rose Water Ice Cream It is the restaurant’s policy to secure the reservation with credit card details at the time of booking. In the event that the booking is not honoured or meets our cancellation terms of 48 hours, then it will be at the discretion of Urbane Restaurant to charge the amount of $125.00 or $145.00 per person.
When
14 Feb 2019
Thu 8:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Urbane

An experience to savour. Urbane has become an icon in the Brisbane dining scene, boasting numerous awards and a top-notch reputation. Inside the restaurant is decked out in simple, classic decor with impressive feature artworks decorating the walls. This is the perfect setting for the intricate and picture perfect food that flows from the kitchen. Head chef Alejandro Cancio has created an exceptional fine-dining degustation menu that will have you ‘wowing’ the whole way through. The dishes are a complex mix of Asian/European flavours and all are full of texture, flavour and colour - each bite is a mystery and a delight. If you’re lucky your degustation will feature some of our favourites: mussels with kimchi oil, or octopus with a tangy squid ink sauce. This is an incredible night out, and one you won’t easily forget. Best Dish: deconstructed cheesecake with pureed and meringue berries.

Urbane Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

17/20
77
4.5/5
3.5/5
9/10