INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Anand Ramakrishna.

Anand Ramakrishna

Anand Ramakrishna (AK) brings a unique perspective to Malay and South East Asian cuisine driven by a passion for method, process and provenance that is part of the DNA of XO. Opening XO in 2015, AK is passionate about exploring the potential of Canberra region produce, creating dishes with his now well-recognised XO signature.

1134 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9
1134 reviews
Recommended
(9.4)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(9.2)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Fri, 22 Feb 2019

(9)
Always a pleasure to dine at XO

dined on Wed, 20 Feb 2019

(10)
Some of the best food on offer in Canberra! Friendly service and always something new to try.

dined on Tue, 19 Feb 2019

(10)
This is a seriously good restaurant. It’s two key features are a very interesting and intelligent menu outstandingly presented and an very high level of attention to detail which includes the service.

dined on Tue, 19 Feb 2019

(10)
We had the Chinese New Year banquet and was very impressed with the presentation of the information for the courses, and the fusion of the cuisine with great ingredients. It's great to have a local restaurant that does not shy away from the bolder Asian flavours and spices that most places do. The menu was clever and fun, and super delicious. To top it off, the dessert was absolutely amazing. A restaurant that balances well between big flavours with great subtlety is hard to find. Well done to the XO team!

dined on Sat, 16 Feb 2019

(9)
Delicious food, always enjoy the Chinese New Year special.

dined on Thu, 14 Feb 2019

(8)
Very good! Waiters were attentive, possibly get them to check people are finished eating before removing plates from the table though

dined on Sat, 9 Feb 2019

(8)
It was a tad noisy when at full capacity

dined on Sat, 9 Feb 2019

(10)
Not the cheapest place to eat but definitely worth the price.

dined on Fri, 8 Feb 2019

(2)
We are regulars at XO and always thoroughly enjoy our food, wine and service experience but unfortunately this time we were quite disappointed. XO is usually very accommodating for a coeliac (GF) diet - and moderations are always thoughtful and delicious - but for the Chinese New Year degustation, it felt like an afterthought. Meals were uncertain and unexplained, and often staff didn’t know what was GF when meals were served (even though we notified of a dietary requirement weeks before the night when we made our booking). Apologies for the disappointed review, we are hopeful our next visit changes our mind.

dined on Thu, 7 Feb 2019

(10)
Beautifully created dishes with wonderful flavour, textures and innovative Asian dishes. High marks to the chefs.
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About XO

Love you like XO Quirky, modern and oh-so-cool, XO Restaurant is breathing new life into the sleepy suburb of Narrabundah. This cracking new eatery has been created by four Canberra boys with a passion for food and drink, and they have created something really special. The menu features upmarket Asian street food with a playful twist… start with some fresh and tangy cured kingfish, and follow this up with the Malaysian style Prawn Kapitan. And you can’t leave without trying their signature ‘Asian Bolognaise’ which features stir fried udon in XO chicken ragout with a 60/60 egg - it's super delicious! The decor is stunning and the food is beautifully presented - you’ll be gramming all night! Best dish: crispy lamb ribs

Features

Insider

XO Address

Google Map