What
Where

Zaaffran

Average price $45 accepts Yums
8.6/10
1,479 reviews

Free serviceInstant booking

Restaurant menu

Average price $45 Special request

The chef recommends...

Kasturi kebab
$18

Chicken breast chunks in a saffron shahi zeera and cheese masala; tandoor smoked with cardamom

Banquet Menu ‘E’ @ $60.00 pp discount to $ 40
$40

TheFork offers

-30% 30% Off Your Food Bill

Enjoy 30 % off your food bill when you dine with us. Drinks will remain at full price. Offer not available in conjunction with any other special, promotion, or coupon.
See offer details

Enjoy 30 % off your food bill when you dine with us. Drinks will remain at full price. Offer not available in conjunction with any other special, promotion, or coupon.

MENU Banquet Menu ‘E’ @ $60.00 pp discount to $ 40 40AUD

Drinks not included. Available on the booked timeslot.
See menu details

MENU Banquet Menu A @$58.00 pp Discounted to $38 38AUD

Drinks not included. Available on the booked timeslot.
See menu details

Ratings & Reviews

Fabulous
8.6/10
based on 1479 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
Quality of food :8.5/10
Service :8.6/10
Setting :8.8/10
  1. Sounish B.
    Sounish B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Excellent service, ambiance and food. Highly recommended.

    Zaaffran

    Thank for your review, Souish. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the atmosphere and food were to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  2. Jodene J.
    Jodene J.
    • 109 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic food, we really enjoyed the beetroot patties (starter) and both our curries were 10/10. Loved the barramundi curry, creamy, spicy - really great. Great view when out on the terrace.

    Zaaffran

    Thank for your review, Jodene. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that food was to your liking. The view is our favourite part too. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  3. David F.
    David F.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice sitting outside, service very polite and fast, all dishes were top notch, only one thing I was charged more a few dollars but still happy with the food, will go back in the future.

    Zaaffran

    Thank for your review, David. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  4. Karen L.
    Karen L.
    • 30 reviews
    10/10

    Always delivers. Love this restaurant, the food is excellent and the staff are very good. You really can’t beat this restaurant if your looking for quality Indian in the Darling Harbour area

    Zaaffran

    Thank for your review, Karen. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  5. Annette M.
    Annette M.
    • 13 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fantastic food and service - as always! One of our favourite restaurants!!

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Annette. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  6. Ifftekar A.
    Ifftekar A.
    • one review
    3/10

    Food was disappointing. Specially the lamb, though prawn curry was okay. Portion sizes were also small.

    Zaaffran

    It is regrettable that you had a bad experience at our establishment. We take your comments very seriously and our passionate at what we do. I would like to assure you that our team does the best we possibly can each day. However, it seems that we were lacking in our endeavour on the occasion of your visit. We would like very much to make it up to you and your party, in exchange for some feedback as to what went wrong. Please either email me or call me on my mobile directly 0425235206. I will arrange to have you visit us at a time and date of your choosing.

  7. Khaled A.
    Khaled A.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Colourful food without any amazing flavours , the menu reads flavour but the dishes don't deliver

    Zaaffran

    It is regrettable that you had a bad experience at our establishment. We take your comments very seriously and our passionate at what we do. I would like to assure you that our team does the best we possibly can each day. However, it seems that we were lacking in our endeavour on the occasion of your visit. We would like very much to make it up to you and your party, in exchange for some feedback as to what went wrong. Please either email me or call me on my mobile directly 0425235206. I will arrange to have you visit us at a time and date if your choosing.

  8. Hanieya R.
    Hanieya R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely amazing service and food! Had special requests as it was my Dad's birthday and everything was organised perfectly. All of us loved the food and service from the staff. Highly recommend and will definitely be coming back! Thank you for making my Dad's birthday memorable.

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Hanieya. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Also, it is nice to hear your Dad had a wonderful birthday. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  9. Sheila P.
    Sheila P.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Every dish was a delight. Packed with flavour & showcasing the variety of Indian cuisine & the subtle mix of spices. I always enjoy my dining experience

    Zaaffran

    Thank for your review, Shiela. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  10. Arpita S.
    Arpita S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Good food, good service and good ambiance!

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Arpita. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  11. Peter D.
    Peter D.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food with delicious spices. This place is a favourite of ours which we don’t visit often enough. Generally we visit when we have a show at the Lyric Theatre. This visit the show started 7pm and the restaurant on a Wednesday doesn’t open until 6pm which is quite tight for a pre-theatre dinner. We got there early and decided what we wanted from the menu out the front so we informed them of our show and ordered as we were seated. They were so accommodating. Food came out quickly and we were out the door at 6:35pm. Very rushed, but delicious and so worth it. Really loved the Kasturi Kebab (chose spicy level) and the Khasta Hara Mahee (semolina crusted barramundi, with a selection of dips). Also ordered the Fort Kochi Moilee (mixed quality seafood in a coconut broth) which my partner loved but was a little too sweet for me, and Beef Vindaloo which I loved, but my partner not no much. All comes down to a matter of taste, but we’ll definitely be back to try more. Tip: We ordered the above with a serve a rice and it was a heap of food for two. I’d do a half serve of the barramundi next time or leave it off altogether. Entrees are quite large. The curries are very saucy which I loved mix leftover sauce with rice but we were too full to take advantage of this. I should add the service was very attentive. High quality restaurant.

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Peter. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Thank for so much for the details, it is nice to read that we were able to accommodate you with your show and that with the rush order everything was still perfect. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  12. Jennifer F.
    Jennifer F.
    • one review
    8/10

    Enjoyed the food and very good service

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Jennifer. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  13. Somya R.
    Somya R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Booking process was easy and prompt. Lovely food, our attendant/server was AWESOME! Sorry missed taking his name. Perfect service. Thank you so much

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Somya. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Thanks for us letting us know the booking process is very easy. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  14. Arun R.
    Arun R.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Food was great! Little pricey but you wouldn't regret Chicken kebab was very subtle with very less flavours. Naan and Chicken butter masala were authentic!

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Arun. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that food was to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  15. Shangari Y.
    Shangari Y.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Food, service and ambience - excellent! Highly recommend!

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Shangari. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  16. Matteo M.
    Matteo M.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Very not ce place with excellent food. Recommended!

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Matteo. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the food was to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  17. Avtar S.
    Avtar S.
    • 4 reviews
    6/10

    I have written good reviews about this restaurant previously . But this time it was a disappointing experience. We booked "50% off food bill" but many food items were charged at full price. No one informed us that some items may be charged at full price. The lady at the counter was not helpful at all. She could not even tell from the bill which items were charged at full price as she was guessing. Creating an issue was not an option for us as we were with guests. Food is Zaaffran's best bet but this time even the food was ordinary. We have never been so disappointed with Zaaffran.

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review Avtar. We are very sorry to hear this. With the TheFork discount, it is only for the Banquet Menu and we do note this on our TheFork website of the conditions. But we can understand your frustration and we will make sure that we alert staff to make this clear when you dine with us. Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to see you again.

  18. Abhishek J.
    Abhishek J.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Staffs and service was excellent as always.

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Abhishek. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  19. Rachel Z.
    Rachel Z.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious Indian food next to the harbour with excellent service. Well worth it for the 50% discount - I would go here again and happily pay full price!

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Rachel. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the service and food were to your liking. Nice to hear that you were able to use your TheFork discounts with no problems and that you will come back again. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

  20. Navpreet S.
    Navpreet S.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and a wonderful ambiance. Perfect place for social and business outings.

    Zaaffran

    Thanks for your review, Navpreet. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely experience with us and that the atmosphere and food were to your liking. Appreciate your support and hope to see you again.

More information

How to get to the restaurant

10 Darling Drive, 2000, Sydney, Australia

About the restaurant

Indian X-Factor

Exotic. Exciting. Magical. These are the words used to describe Zaaffran. Perched up on the upper floor of the mall, this marvel fills up with hungry folk looking for a fantastic Indian feast night after night. The well-regarded Indian restaurant knows how to put on a good feed - just ask any one of the diners eating here mid week, or the flock of people that descend here on the weekends. Right on the waterfront of Darling Harbour, across from Cockle Bay and King Street Wharf, Zaaffran serves authentic Indian that’s both fresh and innovative, with a great intensity and depth of flavours. Be dazzled by some of the best Indian dishes in the city. It’s guaranteed to change the way you think about this cuisine. The bar has been raised.

Best dish: Macchli Charminar: oven roasted with yoghurt. ginger, garlic, lemon & ‘garam masala’; onion tomato and prawn topping; potato smash; lemon-lime turmeric reduction; mint chutney

Restaurants around Zaaffran

Blue Fish

Sydney

$55 average price

Score:7.9 418 reviews

Sydney

$45 average price

Score:7.9 137 reviews

Sydney

Score:7.5 5 reviews

Sydney

$45 average price

Score:7.9 213 reviews

Sydney

$45 average price

Score:8.3 375 reviews

Sydney

$45 average price

Score:7 74 reviews

Sydney

$45 average price

Score:8.2 104 reviews

Sydney

$45 average price

Score:7.1 60 reviews

MENU

Sydney

$45 average price

Score:8.1 333 reviews

Darling Harbour

Score:7 4 reviews

Free serviceInstant booking